The AIA Brooklyn Design Awards program (BKDA) encourages excellence in architectural design through recognition of outstanding projects in Brooklyn and beyond. An invited jury of respected design professionals reviews submissions and selects compelling entries to be commended for design excellence, technical skill, innovation, environmental responsiveness, and social impact. 

This year, the BKDA program is evolving in order to better respond to the complex issues that communities are facing all over the world. The call to protect the health, safety, and welfare of the public has a new and broader meaning in the context of challenges such as increasing climate extremes and social inequity. Going forward, the AIA’s Framework for Design Excellence will be phased into the selection process, and submitted work will be judged not just on aesthetics, but also on measurable performance metrics.  

It is a priority for the AIA Brooklyn chapter to promote the work of its members, and winning entries will be publicized both within and beyond the local community. Additionally, the Awards committee is currently exploring opportunities to provide representation for all entries on the chapter’s website.

Beyond this, the BKDA program seeks to highlight the borough of Brooklyn, with its design community serving as a creative hub for innovation, and its diverse neighborhoods as a dynamic network and unique urban fabric. Although projects will continue to be organized for review based on submission categories, multiple entries within a particular typology may be eligible for an award. Entries will be judged in light of the success with which the project has met its individual requirements, and each will be evaluated individually, not in competition with others. The goal is to highlight outstanding projects by Brooklyn firms and exceptional design work within the borough, whatever form it may take. 

Register for BKDA


    • Please check back for the 2023 BKDA
  • Award presentation ceremony: December 5, 2022


  1. Register an account with the Design Awards Platform
  2. Start your entry (Note: Progress is saved).
  3. Pay fees prior to submitting entry.
  4. Submit your entry to be judged before the deadline.

Submission Fees

Submission Fees are non-refundable. Participants can submit multiple projects, but the fees listed cover only one project submission. An entry fee is required for each project submitted for the Awards program. 

  • $200 AIA Brooklyn Chapter Members
  • $100 Associate AIA
  • $500 Other registered Architects
  • $50 Students

Eligibility Requirements

Projects must be submitted in the name of the firm that executed the commission. If that firm has been dissolved or its name has been changed, an individual or successor firm may enter projects under the name of the firm at the time the project was executed. Multiple entries of the same project by successor individuals or firms will not be accepted. For projects that involve multiple buildings, the architect submitting the project (or a portion thereof) must designate authorship of each portion of the project.


Submission Requirements 

The entire entry process is ONLINE using a Design Award Platform called Award Force. The submission process requires entrants to submit information into fields within the online submission portal and upload files. Once a login has been created, entrants can modify submissions until the deadline.

Design Awards Platform


For questions, contact

This program is generously sponsored by Glenwood Mason Supply Company